Message about use of cookies

We use cookies to improve your experience. By viewing our content you are accepting the use of cookies. Read about cookies we use


Urban Development Strategy

The Urban Development Strategy (UDS) is a model which sets out our aim to develop and regenerate King's Lynn

What is the UDS?

The UDS suggests a programme of structural and other improvements within the urban area of King's Lynn. It aims to facilitate the growth of the town.  

The UDS is a living document which may be added to or changed with time.

The Urban Development Strategy is one part of a family of documents from the Urban Renaissance Strategy.

Strategy aims

There are five principles that guide the implementation of the strategy. These are:

  • built environment
  • transport and movement
  • economy
  • social provision
  • viability

Based on these principles, there are four main aims which form the strategy to regenerate King's Lynn. These are:

Making the most of existing assets and facilities

  • create a marina at Boal Quay
  • reinstate the town's historic urban structure and grain
  • increase and diversify activity in South Quay and waterfront
  • improve first impressions of the town

Focusing development in the town centre

  • focus residential development in the town centre
  • create new and improve existing open spaces in the town

Improving economic viability

  • provide employment premises
  • strengthen north-south movement in the town centre to increase viability of the markets and town centre shops
  • provide mixed use development in the town centre

Improving transport

  • create two or three multi-storey car parks to replace surface parking from the town centre
  • investigate business case for two park and ride facilities from the outskirts of the town
  • provide better bus services
  • create a heritage trail and pedestrian and cycle Green Route through and around the town

The Urban Development Strategy can be found in our document download box below. It's a large document. To ease downloading it has been subdivided into 14 parts.