Message about use of cookies

We use cookies to improve your experience. By viewing our content you are accepting the use of cookies. Read about cookies we use

Dismiss

Inspection of accounts

When you're allowed to look at and ask questions about our accounts

Audit of accounts year ended 31 March 2021

Under Accounts and Audit Regulations 2015, Regulations 14 & 15 and the Local Audit and Accountability Act 2014 Regulations 26, 27 & 28 as amended by: The Accounts and Audit (Amendment) Regulations 2021 we're required to publish our pre-audited draft accounts by the first working day of August (2 August 2021).

We have faced ongoing operational and resourcing matters due to our involvement in responding to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic which has resulted in a delay in producing the draft accounts in accordance with the published deadlines. The draft accounts are expected to be published by 29 October 2021.

We are required to make the draft accounts and relevant supporting documentation available for inspection by the general public as set out in the amended regulations. Given that the draft accounts were not published on the due date of 2 August 2021, the statutory inspection period is also delayed. We will make available the accounts and supporting documentation from the first working day following the date of publication of those draft accounts.

The external audit of the draft statement of accounts for the year ended 31 March 2021 has not yet been completed by our external auditors, EY LLP, due to the planned phased approach to delivering the 2020/21 audits. This situation is allowed for by Regulation 10, paragraph (2a) of the Accounts and Audit Regulations 2015. See attached link:

https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/234/regulation/10/made

Therefore this notification explains, as per paragraph (2a), that we are not yet able to publish our audited 2020/21 final statement of accounts in line with deadline of 30 September 2021, as per paragraph (1). The Audit Committee will consider the results of the 2020/21 audit at a future meeting after which we will publish the final audited accounts.

Audit of accounts year ended 31 March 2020

The external audit of the draft statement of accounts for the year ended 31 March 2020 has not yet been completed by our external auditors, EY LLP. This situation is allowed for by Regulation 10, paragraph (2a) of the Accounts and Audit Regulations 2015.

We did not publish our pre-audited statement of accounts by the 31 August 2020 (in accordance with The Accounts and Audit (Coronavirus) (Amendment) Regulations 2020). This was due to operational and resourcing matters following the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic. The pre-audited financial statements were subsequently published on 16 October 2020. Following the conclusion of the audit of the 2018/19 statement of accounts in January 2021, further amendments were required to the pre-audited financial statements 2019/20 which were then published on 22 June 2021.

As a consequence of this delay, it has been necessary to reschedule the external audit in accordance with EY’s available resources. Therefore, this notification explains, as per paragraph (2a), that we are not yet able to publish our audited 2019/20 final statement of accounts. These will be published as soon as reasonably practicable after the receipt of any report from the auditor which contains the auditor’s final findings from the audit which is issued before the conclusion of the audit.