Message about use of cookies

We use cookies to improve your experience. By viewing our content you are accepting the use of cookies. Read about cookies we use


One week left to shout about excellent development in west Norfolk

Mayor's Design Awards 2024

Published: Monday, 13th May 2024

Time is running out to apply to enter the Mayor’s Design Awards.

The awards celebrate two years’ worth of development in the borough.  Any project completed, including landscaping, between 1 April 2022 and 30 March 2024 can be entered for an award.

The deadline for nominations for the awards, which are organised by the Borough Council of King's Lynn & West Norfolk in association with KL Magazine, has been extended to give people more time submit their entries.  Entries must be received by the end of the day on 17 May 2024.

Architects, planners, planning agents, owners, parish councils or members of the public can nominate a scheme or development, with the permission of the owner.  The Mayor's Design Awards recognise architectural excellence and craftsmanship and highlight the role good design plays in making west Norfolk an attractive place to live and visit.

These awards provide a fantastic opportunity to really shout about the very many superb projects and small developments that have been completed.

The Mayor’s Design Awards focus on small-scale works by local architects, designers and contractors, and the competition is split roughly into the following categories:

  • Extensions
  • Conversions
  • New single homes
  • Groups or small residential developments
  • Commercial schemes
  • Workshops and industrial developments
  • Landscaping and enhancement schemes
  • Community amenities
  • Repairs and refurbishments
  • Craftsmanship

Please note that the categories may change in respect of the types and numbers of schemes nominated, and all nominations will be assessed by the mayor and a panel of judges. The judges will be looking for schemes which bring pleasure through design, workmanship or their contribution to a particular setting.

During the awards' history, an impressive array of schemes have been nominated. Judges have explored everything from skilful conversions to sympathetic new builds and innovative commercial architecture.

Anyone can nominate a building or scheme with the permission of the owner by completing an application form – available from Paper copies are also available at borough council offices and parish councils. All applications should be accompanied by electronic photographs depicting the site before and after works.

Entries close on 17 May 2024. 

Winners will be announced at a special award ceremony on 17 September 2024.

For more information, please telephone Jane Forder on 01553 616374 or send an e-mail to

Also see